thanks, giving.

Since it’s Thanksgiving and all, I thought I’d take a moment to acknowledge what is beautiful and refreshing and real for me right now. This, in short, is what I’m thankful for.

  • Sitka in the snow
  • Sitka all the time. This place is so quirky and welcoming, and it’s full of people who have such rich stories to tell. November is Native American Heritage Month; on Sunday, Anne and I went to Native American Day at the local Presbyterian Church. It’s humbling to be surrounded by people who feel such pride for their heritage, who refuse to let their culture be taken from them.
  • I live with some kind, selfless, encouraging people. (They’re also really attractive.)
  • To prove my point about the excellence of my roommates: as I was writing this, Kat walked into my room holding a fresh-from-the-oven pecan tart and asked, “You’re not allergic to nuts or awesomeness, are you?” This is my life.
  • THE FORT HAS RETURNED!

    and it comes with Christmas lights

  • This guy. I’m thankful for this guy.
  • Christmas music is officially, inarguably acceptable in just two short days. So are Christmas movies! AND the library just so happens to have a little gem known as The Muppet Christmas Carol. Roommates, get your socks ready, because I’m about to knock them off.
  • Lately, I’ve spent every afternoon crafting paper snowflakes—and this is my JOB.
  • Dance class. It’s happenin’, team. Starting this Saturday morning, Anne and I are taking a modern dance class. In a way, this will be a completely new experience for me; in all my twelve years of dancing, I never took a single lesson in modern. Still, after so many years away, it’ll be the most comforting, familiar flashback to just walk into a studio and learn some choreography. Not that I’ll necessarily be any good at it, but I’ll definitely enjoy myself.  I can’t get over how fortunate I am. I get to spend my first post-college year recapturing what I always loved. I hope everyone else is having this much fun in the real world.
  • I’m thankful for all of you. I am incredibly, acutely grateful for your letters and messages and texts and for the minutes you spend reading my random musings. Thanks, friends. Thanks for just being there. If we haven’t talked in a while, can we catch up please? I’d love that.
  • And, in closing, I’m thankful for this gem of a poem. I wrote it in my 6th-grade English Composition class; my parents found it a few weeks ago and emailed it to me. It has a subtitle and everything! And a moral! It’s so bad and yet so good at the same time.  Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

Timmy Turkey:

The Turkey Who Told Tall Tales

Timmy Turkey, that’s my name,

And telling tall tales was my game.

Then one day my talking stopped,

And off of me my feathers flopped.

That’s what happened; here’s my story-

Hope you don’t find it too gory.

I gobbled around as turkeys would,

Tellin’ things that weren’t so good.

Told of bad grades, looks, and smells.

No one liked me very well.

On the day before Thanksgiving,

(that’s the last day I was living)

Plump Granny Bertha had a party,

And I was invited by her friend named Barty.

When I stepped in the coop things were swingin’.

Singin’ Sally was a-singin’.

Suddenly all things were quiet.

I heard whispers of, “I hope he’ll buy it.”

The next thing I knew I was tied to the chopper.

All I could think was, “That knife’s a whopper!”

Now I lay here on this plate,

Thinking sadly of my fate.

Wishing I could be the winner-

I’d much rather be eating dinner.

So let this tale be a lesson-

If you tell tall tales you’ll end up near the dressin’.

Leave a Reply

